The notch in full screen and during screen capture

Choose whether the notch hides when an app is full screen, and whether it appears in screenshots and screen recordings.

When an app is in full screen

In Settings › General › Full Screen, choose:

  • All apps (default): the notch hides when any app is in full screen.
  • Hide only while playing media: the notch hides only when the full-screen app is the one playing music or video, like when you watch a movie.
  • Never hide.
The preview for the Full screen behavior row in Settings › General

When you capture or record the screen

Settings › General › Privacy & Capture › Hide during capture decides whether the notch appears in screenshots and screen recordings (from macOS, video meeting apps and screen recording apps). The options are:

  • Never hide (default): the notch always appears in images and videos. This is also the only option that keeps the notch in screenshots taken with OneNotch itself.
  • Hide during capture.
  • When closed: hides only when the notch is closed.
  • When closed and inactive: hides only when the notch is closed and isn't showing anything.
  • Hide from other apps only.

Choose Hide during capture when you share your screen in a meeting and don't want others to see your clipboard or alerts in the notch.